Skip to content

Falla: El amor brujo (1915 original version) / El retablo de Maese Pedro


Falla: El amor brujo (1915 original version) / El retablo de Maese Pedro

Released in May 2019 on Naxos with Perspectives Ensemble

Manuel de Falla is renowned as the greatest Spanish composer of the early 20th century, melding diverse stylistic, folk or literary influences into distinctive new musical languages and forging masterworks that have become cultural emblems of his homeland. This synthesis can be found in the original 1915 version of El amor brujo, a heartfelt representation of a young Roma woman’s dramatic quest to free herself of the ghost of her lover. The mini-opera El retablo de Maese Pedro pays homage to Cervantes’ beloved Don Quixote using instrumentations and rhythms that conjure both Spain’s Golden Age and the vibrant energy of new European music in the 1920s.

Buy album


Gil-Ordóñez’ Wonderful de Falla

Published in April 2019 by Lynn René Bayley (The Art Music Lounge)

This performance of El retablo goes straight to the top of my list of preferred versions, and I consider the El amor brujo to be very nearly the equal of Toscanini’s in performance quality and, of course, far superior in sound.

Keep reading

More reviews

About this recording

Program / track

El amor brujo (Love, the Magician) – 1915 version

  • Act I: Introducción y escena (Introduction and First Scene) – 00:02:40
  • Act I: Canción del amor dolido (Song of a Broken Heart) – 00:01:39
  • Act I: Sortilegio (The Spell) – 00:01:03
  • Act I: Danza del fin del día: Danza ritual del fuego (Dance of Day’s End: Ritual Fire Dance) – 00:04:04
  • Act I: Escena: El amor vulgar (Scene: Common Love) – 00:01:08
  • Act I: Romance del pescador (The Story of the Fisherman) – 00:02:22
  • Act I: Intermedio (Interval) – 00:04:52
  • Act II: Introducción: El fuego fatuo (Introduction: The Will-o’-the-Wisp) – 00:01:00
  • Act II: Escena: El terror (Scene: The Terror) – 00:01:16
  • Act II: Danza del fuego fatuo: Danza del terror (Dance of the Will-o’-the-Wisp: Dance of Terror) – 00:01:54
  • Act II: Interludio: Alucinaciones (Interlude: Hallucinations) – 00:02:05
  • Act II: Canción del fuego fatuo (Song of the Will-o’-the-Wisp) – 00:02:14
  • Act II: Conjuro para reconquistar el amor perdido (Spell to Reconquer Lost Love) – 00:02:49
  • Act II: Escena: El amor popular (Scene: Ordinary Love) – 00:01:02
  • Act II: Danza y canción de la bruja fingida: Danza y canción del juego de amor (Dance and Song of the False Witch: Dance and Song of the Game of Love) – 00:03:34
  • Act II: Final: Las campanas de amanecer (Finale: The Bells of Morning) – 00:01:38

El retablo de Maese Pedro (Master Peter’s Puppet Show)

  • El pregón (The Proclamation – Master Peter) – 00:00:57
  • La sinfonía de Maese Pedro (Master Peter’s Symphony, Master Peter – The Boy) – 00:03:17
  • Scene 1: La Corte de Carlo Magno (The Court of Charlemagne –The Boy) – 00:02:10
  • Scene 1: Entrada de Carlo Magno (Entry of Charlemagne – The Boy) – 00:03:07
  • Scene 2: Melisendra (The Boy, Don Quixote, Master Peter) – 00:03:18
  • Scene 3: El suplicio del moro (The Moor’s Reward – The Boy) – 00:01:27
  • Scene 4: Los Pirineos (The Pyrenees – The Boy) – 00:04:38
  • Scene 5: La fuga (The Escape – The Boy, Master Peter, Don Quixote) – 00:01:51
  • Scene 6: La persecución (The Pursuit – The Boy, Don Quixote) – 00:00:34
  • Final (Finale, Don Quixote, Master Peter) – 00:05:14


  • Perspectives Ensemble
  • Angel Gil-Ordóñez, conductor
  • Sato Moughalian, artistic director
  • Esperanza Fernandez, Flamenco cantaora
  • Alfredo Garcia, baritone
  • Jennifer Zetlan, soprano

Discography menu

  1. Falla: El amor brujo (1915 original version) / El retablo de Maese Pedro
    Released in May 2019
  2. Lou Harrison: Violin Concerto / Grand Duo / Double Music
    Released in April 2017
  3. Silvestre Revueltas: Redes (DVD)
    Released in May 2016
  4. Dvořák and America
    Released in June 2014
  5. Xavier Montsalvatge: Madrigal sobre un tema popular / 5 Invocaciones al Crucificado / Folia daliniana
    Released in January 2014
  6. Aaron Copland: The City (DVD)
    Released in January 2009
  7. Virgil Thomson: The Plow That Broke The Plains • The River (CD and DVD)
    Released in January 2007
  8. Los Sueños de Manuel de Falla
    Released in September 2000
  9. El Abuelo
    Released in December 1998
  10. Música Contemporánea
    Released in April 1996
  11. Film Music by Manuel Balboa
    Released in January 1995